October debate set for Otterbein University in Ohio

October debate set for Otterbein University in Ohio

Jackie Borchardt

Cincinnati Enquirer

Published 2:41 PM EDT Sep 13, 2019

COLUMBUS – Democrats will hold their next presidential debate at Otterbein University in Westerville, Ohio, a suburb northeast of Columbus.

The Democratic National Committee announced the Oct. 15 debate will be hosted by CNN and The New York Times. A second night could be added if more candidates meet the qualifying criteria.

The announcement ends weeks of speculation the DNC might choose Dayton, where a mass shooter killed nine people in August, or Lordstown in Ohio’s Mahoning Valley, where General Motors has left thousands of assembly plant employees out of work.

To Ohio Democrats, Westerville and suburban Columbus represent voter demographics changing in their favor. A 2018 national “blue wave” didn’t change much in Ohio on the congressional and statewide level. But Democrats picked up six Ohio House seats in suburban districts.

More: 5 things we learned from the 2020 Democratic debate in Houston

More: The Democratic race gets hotter with a debate over where, exactly, the party should stand

In 2016 Democrat Hillary Clinton beat Donald Trump in Westerville precincts by about 1,000 votes. Trump won Ohio by 8 points.

“What we’ve seen in the suburbs of Columbus, Cincinnati, Cleveland and other cities mirrors what has happened in places like Harris County, Texas, and Orange County, California – suburban voters, particularly women, are backing Democratic candidates in response to the broken promises and toxic agenda of Donald Trump,” Ohio Democratic Party Chairman David Pepper said in a statement.

Candidates must reach 2% in four DNC-approved polls and record contributions from at least 130,000 unique donors by Oct. 1.

The following candidates have already qualified: 

Former Vice President Joe Biden
Sen. Cory Booker of New Jersey
South Bend, Indiana, Mayor Pete Buttigieg
Former HUD Secretary Julián Castro
Sen. Kamala Harris of California
Sen. Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota
Former Rep. Beto O’Rourke of Texas
Sen. Bernie Sanders of Vermont
Tom Steyer, businessman
Sen. Elizabeth Warren of Massachusetts
Andrew Yang, businessman
The debate will be moderated by CNN anchors Anderson Cooper and Erin Burnett as well as The Times’ National editor, Marc Lacey.

Source link