ABC announces moderators and debate details

ABC announces moderators and debate details

WASHINGTON – Wednesday, ABC News announced the moderators and details for the third Democratic debate at Texas Southern University, a historically black university, in Houston. 

The network will co-host the debate, scheduled for Sept. 12 and possibly 13, with Univision. The event will air on ABC, Univision, KTRK-TV and on ABC News Live.

The debate will be hosted by four moderators: ABC News chief anchor George Stephanopoulos, “World News Tonight” anchor David Muir, ABC News correspondent Linsey Davis and Univision anchor Jorge Ramos.

There are 10 candidates who have qualified for the debates by meeting a 2% threshold in four national or early-state polls and securing at least 130,000 unique donors. 

Candidates have until Aug. 28 to meet the polling and donor cutoffs. 

ABC plans only one night of debate, but if more than 10 candidates qualify, ABC will extend the debate for a second night and randomly assign candidates to each night. 

More: Here are the candidates who have qualified for the September Democratic debate in Houston

More: Jill Biden to Democrats: Your candidate may be ‘better’ on some policies, but Joe Biden will beat Trump

The 10 candidates who have qualified for the debate stage as of Thursday: 

  • Former Vice President Joe Biden
  • Sen. Bernie Sanders of Vermont
  • Sen. Elizabeth Warren of Massachusetts
  • Sen. Kamala Harris of California
  • Sen. Cory Booker of New Jersey
  • Sen. Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota
  • South Bend, Indiana, Mayor Pete Buttigieg
  • Former Rep. Beto O’Rourke of Texas
  • Andrew Yang, entrepreneur
  • Former HUD Secretary Julián Castro

Source link